So many things have happened in the last few days that I have had difficulties to keep up without staying all day in front of the TV.
Two major events, though, are worth mentioning.
Barack has chosen his Vice-Presidential candidate.
Much more shattering news: John does not know how many houses he owns. Two days ago, he was asked in an interview how many houses he and his wife owned. He answered Er... I am unsure. Let my staff get back to you, ok.
I beg your pardon, John, you don't know how many houses you own? Do you know where you live after these many months in your private jet? Write it down on a post-it and stick it on your plane tablet, my friend, because if you lose, you will need to get back home, in any one of them, and you might be in trouble if you don't know where to go.
Since that lapse of memory, John's housing problem has been a running joke for just about everybody that is not a Republican. Keith Olberman, brilliant MSNBC guy, refers to it about 20 times per show and does not get tired of it. Me neither, I have to admit.
To explain the blunder -- yes, the blunders always get to be explained by spokesmen, and the explanation are always worse than the blunders, always -- a McCain spokesman declared Mr McCain lived more than five years in the same home, and that was prison. The spokesman referred to his candidate being a prisoner of war for five years in Vietnam.
John has the tendency to use his POW status as an excuse for everything, and I think that this is going to piss people off. The war in Iraq has become less than a priority for American voters struggling with recession, but if John keeps referring to his POW status so often, he might remind voters of a war that they used to hate.
John, I am very sorry for what you endured in Vietnam, but it does not make you a better man, it does not even make you an expert in foreign affairs.
A piece of advice, John. The only way to explain your housing blunder without appearing out of touch is to concede you are too old to remember. I know, it would be counterproductive with your trying to define Barack as too young and inexperienced, but it would be moving.
Last night, at 3.00am, Barack text messaged me (yes, Barack and I are so close he sends me text messages in the middle of the night). He was telling me that he had picked his VP. All week, he kept it a secret (I don't really know why), the cameras of CNN were in front of three houses -- not all Biden's houses (he owns one) but the houses of three contenders -- filming nothing expecting probably Barack to appear rushing at one of the three front doors screaming I want you! I want you! Please be my Veep! But he finally announced it by the text message he sent me last night, and that's why I am telling you now so that the TV journalists have something concrete to talk about today.
He picked Joe Biden, Senator of Delaware. He is not very well-known but experts say he is the best choice because he know foreign affairs very well and he is more experienced than his teammate. The National Convention of the Democrats start in two days. We are living exciting times.
Prediction of the day: John was doing better last week, but at the end of this week, I still see Barack winning. And I don't think Hillary will be picked as VP. To tell you the truth, I think she is pissed off and I look forward to her and her husband's speeches at the convention.
I'll let you know.
Saturday, August 23, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
I, too, received that text message from Barack this morning (we're thisclose you know), and I have to tell you that I predicted Biden would be veep and was a little smug about my new clairvoyance. His foreign affairs experience (and healthy relationships with many foreign leaders) is really going to put a damper on McCain's attacks on Obama regarding his relative inexperience.
That McCain "I don't know where I live" business is kind of disheartening for Republicans. Couple that with his interview where he reveals his favorite song is "Dancing Queen" because he hasn't paid much attention to music since the 70s, and when he says you have to earn $5 million a year to be "rich," and I'd say you have one seriously out of touch individual.
Post a Comment